Alabama Board of Funeral Service
Application for Permanent License

Embalmer Checklist
All applicants for an embalmers license in the State of Alabama must have met all the following criteria. If
the applicant cannot answer "Yes" to all the following the applicant is not eligible for licensure.

Yes ‘No‘ ‘ Requirements

Completed Application

Over 18 years of age

Good Moral Character

U.S. Citizen

High School Graduate or Equivalent

Citizenship Documentation

Licensing Fee ($200.00)

Completed 24-month embalming apprenticeship within three consecutive years

Time since last apprentice certificate is less than 2 years.

Embalming case report (minimum 40 cases required and not less than two annual reports) (3 if required)
Graduate of an accredited mortuary school or college

Two affidavits from two different licensed embalmers

Certified Transcript from Mortuary School or College (sent directly to the Board from the school or college)
certified passing score on the National Board Science Exam (if applicable) (sent directly to the Board from The Conference)
Certified passing score on the State Embalmer Exam (if applicable)

Certified passing score on the Alabama LRR

Completed background check application

Background check fee (38.25 payable to ABFS)

Two complete sets of fingerprint cards
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Completed Background Disclosure

*To constitute a passing score the applicant shall earn a score of at least 75.
**If the applicant has been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor, the applicant must have the certified records from the court in

which the conviction occurred sent to the following address:
Alabama Board of Funeral Service

P O Box 309522
Montgomery, AL 36130
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