

QUARTERLY NEWSLETTER

ESTABLISHMENTS, FUNERAL DIRECTORS, EMBALMERS, CREMATIONIST and APPRENTICES RENEW THIS YEAR. DEADLINES HAVE CHANGED

The renewal period for **ALL LICENSEES** for fiscal year 2022-2024 will begin <u>JULY 1, 2022 AND RENEWALS ARE DUE BY SEPTEMBER 1, 2022</u>. The deadline to renew without penalty is <u>SEPTEMBER 1, 2022</u>. Failure to receive a notice does not excuse a licensee from renewing by the deadline.

ONLINE RENEWAL is available by going to the Homepage of the Alabama Board of Funeral Service website (www.fsb.alabama.gov), click on "ONLINE SERVICES". A valid credit card will be needed to complete an online renewal. A 4% administration fee will be added to each certificate that is renewed using the online system. It is extremely important that online users verify that the information (i.e. address, email address, etc.) listed on their profile is current and correct. Verification ensures that licenses, or certificate(s) are mailed to the correct address and licensees are receiving Board correspondences.

Licenses that are not renewed by the SEPTEMBER 1st deadline, may still renew with a \$100.00 late penalty per license or certificate until October 1, 2022. On October 2, 2022 a license or certificate that has not been renewed will be considered expired at which time the individual must CEASE and DESIST all practice. Any renewal received after the October 2nd deadline must apply for reactivation.

**All renewals must be complete, and fees must be <u>IN</u> the board's office on or before the close of business on September 1, 2021, Postmark dates are not taken into consideration. Any renewal received, whether by mail, online renewal, or hand delivered, after September 1, 2022 must include the \$100.00 late penalty per license or certification. Establishments will be required to list type of ownership. Sole proprietors and partnerships must list owners or partners. Corporations and LLC's will be required to list members or officers. Corporations and LLC's will also be required to list the corporation or LLC name that is registered with the Alabama Secretary of State. Renewals that are incomplete, missing documents or have incorrect fees will be returned. If corrected, returned and received after September 1, 2022, the late fee of \$100.00 will be required before the license(s) will be renewed.

Apprentice Renewal Check List:

_ ' ' '	
Renewal Application	YES / NO
Renewal Fee	YES / NO
Annual Report (Funeral Director and/or Embalmer)	YES / NO
Case Report – Skills Evaluation (Funeral Director and/or Embalmer)	YES / NO
Proof of Enrollment in an accredited Mortuary Program or bachelor's degree	YES / NO

Apprentices must submit case reports annual reports and skills evaluation forms with their renewal application. If questions, please contact the Board's office at 334-242-4049. Apprentice renewals received without annual reports, case reports or skills evaluations, correct fees, or proof of enrollment or bachelor's degree will be returned. If corrected, returned, and received after September 1, 2022, the late fee of \$100.00 will be required before the certificate(s) will be renewed.

CONTINUING EDUCATION

LICENSEES IT'S RENEWAL TIME... to renew ALL licenses, (that's cremationists too) eight (8) hours of board approved continuing education must have been completed during the period of October 1, 2022 through October 1, 2022. Courses completed prior to these dates which were used for a previous renewal or reactivation may not be used for the 2022 renewal. Do not send completion certificates with renewals. These are for your records only. Please take the time to view your online profile and review the courses that have reported. Do not contact the Board's office for questions concerning completions, contact the provider. All course completions are uploaded through the provider's online portal. IT'S VERY IMPORTANT... Included in the eight hours of continuing education licensees must have completed a board approved course in ethics and blood-borne pathogen/universal precaution. Licenses will not be renewed until these course completions have been reported by the provider. If the renewal or CE's are completed after September 1, 2022 a late fee of \$100.00 per license will be required before the license is renewed.

CREMATIONIST ... Once an individual receives a crematory operator certification, a cremationist must complete crematory operatory training approved by the board every 4 years. This must be done to renew a cremationist license, and it shall count toward continuing education. Check your operator training certificate ISSUE date, that will tell you if training will be required to renew your cremationist license. See the Board's website for approved providers.

CONTINUING EDUCATION PROVIDERS

PROVIDERS IT'S TIME TO RENEW... All providers must renew and pay the biennial administrative fee of \$200.00. **LOOK AND SEE...** Providers can view, and manage their continuing education profile, as well as pay the administrative fee through the provider portal.

IT'S VERY IMPORTANT... Please remember course completions must be uploaded within 10 days of the course completion. Licensees depend on providers reporting and providers depend on licensees' participation. Providers who do not pay the administrative fee before October 1, 2022 will expire. Licensees will not receive course completion from expired providers.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR ONLINE SERVICES AND LICENSEE PORTAL

Funeral Directors, Embalmers, Cremationist, Establishments, and Apprentices may access the Board's "Online Services" to verify and edit their contact information, view their CE credits and courses, pay fees and penalties, and renew their license or certification (renewals open July 1, 2022). When accessing the "Online Services" from the Board's website for the first time, individuals and businesses will be required to change their password to a four-character pin of their choice. The steps are as follows:

- 1. On the home page of the Board's website, www.fsb.alabama.gov, click "ONLINE SERVICES"
- 2. Click Individual or Business and enter your current Login and password.
- 3. Then you will be prompted to enter a new 4 -character pin (1st time users only!).
- 4. Once the pin is entered you will be required to Login with the new pin.

Licensees that used the "Online Services" during the last renewal, were required to select a pin at that time. If you have forgotten your pin, then you may contact the Board's office for assistance with login.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY

If you will be celebrating your 65th birthday before October 1, 2022 and have 10 years of service in the funeral industry, congratulations, you are exempt from the continuing education requirements! Many wishes for a happy year if you have celebrated a birthday since the last Quarterly Newsletter.

HOUSE BILL 48

During this year's regular annual sessions of legislators, House Bill 48 passed the Senate and the House of Representatives, was signed by Governor Ivey on April 7, 2022, and becomes effective May 1, 2022. House Bill 48 amended and made changes to the Alabama Funeral Service Law. The Board is in the process of amending the administrative rules and will hold a public administrative rule making hearing on July 11, 2022 @ 10:00 a.m. Please see the **Notices of Intended Action** which is included with this newsletter. The following are the changes to the Alabama Funeral Law because of House Bill 48:

MAJOR CHANGES

- Establishes the Funeral Board Property Acquisition Fund and would provide for the powers of the board relating to real property.
- Authorizes the board to employ additional associate executive directors if expansion of the agency occurs.
- Authorizes the board to establish committees and subcommittees and to adopt rules relating to the sale
 of goods, services, and merchandise by licensees of the board.
- Changes the room suitable for public viewing or other funeral services to be a minimum of 1,000 square feet.
- Provides further for license renewals, past due renewals, and or the reactivation of licenses
- Renewal applications and fees are due 30 calendar days before the expiration date of the license, if not then the license becomes past due.
- Requires commencing on October 1, 2023, an initial applicant for a funeral or mortuary service establishment to provide proof of, and maintain, a one-million-dollar general liability insurance policy.
- Increases the maximum amount that can be charged for an apprentice application fee and provides further for the application and renewal process and disciplinary action relating to a certificate of apprenticeship.

MINOR CHANGES

- Makes technical and non-substantive changes. (Simplify language relating to the various licenses, certificates, and registrations issued by the board.)
- Definitions
- Provides further for the compensation of board members.
- Provides further for the duties of board members, the executive director, associate executive directors, employees, and independent contractors of the board
- Updates the qualifications for a funeral director's license and an embalmer's license to define current course requirements.

BOARD MEETING

The Board will hold its third regular meeting of fiscal year 2022 on July 11, 2021 at 10:00 a.m. 4276 Lomac Street, Montgomery, AL 36104. Matters or subjects not on the agenda are not guaranteed for discussion at the meeting.

EXAMINATIONS

The Alabama Board of Funeral Service certified the following individuals as having met the qualifications to take the Board examination for licensure of their choice:

Don K. Cagle Deborah N. Rupright

Ivy Godsey Audry Montgomery

THE CONFERENCE

The National and State Funeral Director and Embalmer's exams are given by The Conference through Pearson VUE testing centers at five locations statewide. The exam application and exam fee are submitted to The Conference by the applicant. The licensing application, application fee, and affidavits shall be submitted to the Board office.

The Conference: www.theconferenceonline.org Phone: 479-442-7076

Applicants for the Alabama State Art or Science exam shall:

- 1. Submit application for permanent license to the Board's office.
- 2. Eligibility will be verified by the Board's staff and sent to The Conference.
- 3. Applicants must register with The Conference at www.theconferenceonline.org to submit their exam application and payment.
- 4. Please keep in mind, processing takes anywhere from 2-3 business days. The Conference must have your eligibility, application, and payment to schedule an exam. You will be notified by email when you are eligible to schedule.

THE ALABAMA FUNERAL DIRECTOR AND ALABAMA EMBALMER EXAM

The Board now administers the Alabama Funeral Director and Alabama Embalmer Exams. These exams offer an added option to become licensed in the State of Alabama. A qualified applicant may still take the NBE (National Board Exam) or the SBE (State Board Exam). The intended exam's purpose is for an applicant to become licensed in the State of Alabama for the practice area referenced in the title of the exam, in accordance with Alabama Code §34-13-73(a) and (b) for funeral director licensure applicants and §34-13-94(a) for embalmer licensure applicants, and Alabama Administrative Code Chapter 395-X-2.

- a. <u>No Guarantee of Transferability</u>. Other states or licensing entities may or may not accept the results of an exam administered by the Alabama Board of Funeral Service for licensure or any other purpose.
- b. The International Conference of Funeral Service Examining Board ("The Conference") offers an examination that may provide a better option if it is Applicant's desire or intentions are to practice in another state. This exam is not intended to replace the exams administered by the Conference but offer another option for licensing. Applicants wishing to take the Alabama Funeral Director and/or the Alabama Embalmer Exam must acknowledge that this exam may or may not be accepted by another state for reciprocity, endorsement, or other purpose. All forms for the exams are available on the Board's website under "forms".

Applicants for the Alabama Funeral Director and/ or Alabama Embalmer exam shall:

- 1. Submit application for permanent license to the Board's office.
- 2. Eligibility will be verified by the Board's staff and an email will be sent to the applicant confirming or denying eligibility.
- 3. After eligibility is confirmed, only then will the applicant be able to register.
- 4. Applicants must submit their exam registration and payment prior to the registration deadline.
- 5. The applicant will receive a scheduling authorization via email which will provide instructions to schedule the desired exam.
- 6. The scheduling authorization will indicate the first available test date the applicant may schedule.
- 7. The applicant must <u>RESPOND</u> to the scheduling authorization <u>VIA EMAIL</u> indicating the date the applicant wishes to schedule their exam.
- 8. The applicant will receive an exam confirmation email approximately one week prior to the scheduled exam.
- 9. It is the responsibility of the applicant to review and adhere to the exam handbook and rules https://www.fsb.alabama.gov/pdfs/2022/ALABAMAEXAMGUIDERev.pdf

STATE LAW EXAM

Applicants for the Law, Rules and Regulations exam shall:

- 1. Submit application for permanent license to the Board's office.
- 2. Eligibility will be verified by the Board's staff and an email will be sent to the applicant confirming or denying eligibility.
- 3. After eligibility is confirmed, only then will the applicant be able to register.
- 4. Applicants must submit their exam registration and payment prior to the registration deadline.
- 5. The applicant will receive a scheduling authorization via email which will provide instructions to schedule the LRR exam. The scheduling authorization will indicate the first available test date the applicant may schedule.
- 6. The applicant must <u>RESPOND</u> to the scheduling authorization <u>VIA EMAIL</u> indicating the date the applicant wishes to schedule their exam.
- 7. The applicant will receive an exam confirmation email approximately one week prior to the scheduled exam.
- 8. It is the responsibility of the applicant to review and adhere to the exam handbook and rules https://www.fsb.alabama.gov/pdfs/2022/ALABAMAEXAMGUIDERev.pdf

NOTE:

- All correspondence or questions regarding exams shall be sent to <u>info@fsb.alabama.gov</u>
- All correspondence regarding exams will be received from info@fsb.alabama.gov
- No late registrations will be accepted after the deadline to qualify.
- All rules and procedures in the exam handbook will be followed without no exceptions.
- Deadlines will be enforced

Alabama Funeral Director exam 8:30 – 11:00 a.m.

Alabama LRR exam 12:00 – 1:00 p.m.

Alabama Embalmer exam 2:00 – 4:30 p.m.

Applicants shall arrive at the exam location no later than 30 minutes prior to the exam.

EXAM DEADLINES AND DATES

Deadline to Qualify	Exam Date
Monday May 2, 2022	Monday May 16, 2022
Tuesday June 7, 2022	Monday June 20, 2022
Tuesday July 5, 2022	Monday July 18, 2022
Monday August 1, 2022	Monday August 15, 2022
Tuesday September 6, 2022	Monday September 19, 2022
Monday October 3, 2022	Monday October 17, 2022
Monday November 7, 2022	Monday November 21, 2022
Monday December 5, 2022	Monday December 19, 2022

The following licenses were approved during the April Board meeting

Funeral Director

Jonathan Page Crystal Tolbert Shanna Bryant Justin English Kimberly Haston

Funeral Director and Embalmer

Benjamin Joslin Haley Conroy Donald Phillips

Cremationist

Grissel Sanchez Derek Franklin Jon Davison
Michael Patton Thomas Hughes David Brackin
Justin Jacobs Camille Rodrick Chris L. Harris

James Shockney

Reactivation

Apprentice Funeral Director: 2 Funeral Director and Embalmer: 3

Establishments

Gates of Heaven Mortuary (Mobile)	New
Wolfe Funeral Home & Crematory (Lillian)	New

Background Checks as of 5/18/2022	153
-----------------------------------	-----

ACTIVE LICENSE COUNT AS OF June 1, 2022

Establishments	478	Crematories	68
Mortuary Services	1	Cremationists	295
Funeral Directors	1529	Apprentice Funeral Directors	281
Embalmers	843	Apprentice Embalmers	168
Practical Embalmers	46	CE Providers	40
Special Work Permit-Director	0	Special Work Permit-Embalmer	0
Special Work Permit-Cremationist	0		