ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE PRENEED REGULATION

CHAPTER 482-3-002

PRENEED FEES AND FINES

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Rule 482-3-00201	Purpose, Scope and Authority.	2
Rule 482-3-00202	Preneed Fees and Fines	2
Rule 482-3-00203	Severability and Effective Date.	3

Rule 482-1-002-.01 Purpose, Scope and Authority.

(1) The purpose of this chapter is to formalize the practice within the Department of Insurance preceding the effective date of this chapter and set various fees and fine amounts authorized in Ala. Code § 27-17A-11 (2002), a part of the Alabama Preneed Funeral and Cemetery Act, Ala. Code §§ 27-17A-1, *et seq.* (2002), adjusted according to Alabama Act No. 2015-441.

(2) This chapter shall apply to all persons subject to the Alabama Preneed Funeral and Cemetery Act.

(3) This chapter is adopted pursuant to Ala. Code \S 27-2-17 (1975) and 27-17A-11 (2002).

Author: Commissioner of Insurance Ala. Code §§ 27-2-17, 27-17A-11, & 41-1-11 History: New October 18, 2012, effective October 28, 2012; Revised December 8, 2015, Effective January 13, 2016

Rule 482-3-002-.02 <u>Preneed Fees and Fines.</u> The following fees and fines are hereby established and confirmed:

(a) Initial certificate of authority fee, as permitted in Ala. Code § 27- 17A-11(d)(1) \$198
(b) Annual renewal of certificate of authority fee, as permitted in Ala. Code § 27-17A-11(d)(1) \$99
(c) Branch registration fee, initial and annual renewal, as permitted in Ala. Code § 27-17A-11(d)(2) \$198
(d) Fine for each day the certificate holder fails to file its annual statement, as permitted in Ala. Code § 27-17A-11(h) \$50
(e) Transfer of certificate of authority fee, as permitted in Ala. Code $\$ 27-17A-11(j) \$132
(f) Fine for each day the certificate holder fails to file its statement of activities of the trust, as permitted in Ala. Code § 27-17A-11(h) \$50
(g) Transfer of certificate of authority (branch registration) fee, as permitted in Ala. Code § 27-17A-11(j) \$132
(h) Preneed sales agent application fee, initial and annual renewal, as permitted in Ala. Code § 27-17A-18(g) & (j) \$33
Author: Commissioner of Insurance

Ala. Code §§ 27-2-17, 27-17A-11, & 41-1-11

ALABAMA PRENEED REGULATION Chapter 482-3-002

History: New October 18, 2012, effective October 28, 2012; Revised December 8, 2015, Effective January 13, 2016; Revised June 10, 2021, Effective June 20, 2021

Rule 482-3-002-.03 Severability and Effective Date.

(1) If any rule or portion of a rule or its applicability to any person or circumstance is held invalid by a court, the remainder of this chapter or the applicability of the provision to other persons or circumstances shall not be affected.

(2) This chapter shall become effective upon its approval by the Commissioner of Insurance and upon its having been on file as a public document in the office of the Secretary of State for ten days, and upon its having been on file with the Legislative Reference Service for 35 days, subject to review by the Joint Committee on Administrative Regulation Review.

Author: Commissioner of Insurance Statutory Authority: Ala. Code §§ 27-2-17 & 27-17A-11 History: New October 18, 2012, effective October 28, 2012; Revised December 8, 2015, Effective January 13, 2016