
Subject:  Important:  License or Certi�ication Renewal Required by October 1, 2025 
 
You are receiving this email because you currently hold a license or certi�ication that will expire on October 1, 
2025.  This notice serves as an of�icial reminder and includes important instructions for renewing your license or 
certi�ication.  Please review all instructions carefully and thoroughly before beginning the renewal process.  If 
you have any questions or need assistance, feel free to contact the Board of�ice. 
 
In accordance with the Code of Alabama, 1975: 
 

• §34-13-191(d)(1):  Certi�icate of Authority licenses must be renewed annually and will expire on 
October 1st if not renewed. 
 

• §34-13-199(j):  All Preneed Sales Agent licenses must be renewed annually and will expire on October 
1st if not renewed. 

 
The Board will begin accepting renewal applications for Certi�icate of Authority licenses, Branch Registrant 
licenses, and Preneed Sales Agent licenses on July 1, 2025. 
 
Please note:  Applications submitted before July 1, 2025, will not be processed and will be returned. 
 

• Renewal Period Without Penalty:  July 1st – September 1st 
 

• Late Renewal Period (With $100.00 late fee):  September 2nd – October 1s 
 

• Renewal Period Close:  After October 1st, the license or certi�ication will be expired 
 
If using expedited delivery services (FedEx, UPS, overnight, etc.), please ensure the package is delivered before 
4:30 PM on business days.  The Board of�ice is closed on weekends, and delivery dates do not guarantee the 
item has been received. 
 
⚠  Do not submit renewal applications for Funeral Director, Embalmer, Cremationist, or Establishment 
licenses at this time.  These are not due until 2026. 
 
⚠  Do not attempt to renew an Endowment Care Cemetery registration.  These do not expire and do not 
have a renewal application. 
 
Renewal Fees 
 

Renewal Fee and Late Fee 
           License Type    Renewal Fee      (After September 1st)        n 
  Certi�icate of Authority         $99.00     $199.00 

Branch Registrant of Certi�icate of Authority       $198.00     $298.00 
    Preneed Sales Agent          $33.00     $133.00 

 
Instructions:  Online Service Portal – Alabama Board of Funeral Services 
 
Before renewing, ensure that: 
 

• Your license is current, active, and in good standing (i.e. all fees/�ines are paid and no administrative 
issues are pending) 
 

• Your contact and employment information is accurate and up to date. 
 
Renewals may be completed online or by mail.  Applications will be available on the Board’s website starting July 
1, 2025. 



 
Online Portal Renewal 
 

• Preneed Sales Agents use the “Are You a Licensee?” Licensee Portal.  
https://alfsb.portalus.thentiacloud.net/webs/portal/service/#/login 
 

• Certi�icate of Authority and Branch Registrants use the “Business Licensing” Business Licensing 
Portal.  https://alfsb.portalus.thentiacloud.net/webs/portal/business/#/login 
 

Required Supporting Documents 
 
Certi�icate of Authority: 
 

• Complete �inancial statement (Requirements on website) 
 

• If approved for a �inancial statement waiver, include a copy of the waiver approval letter 
 

Method of Payment 
 
Choose a payment method during online submission: 
 

• Employer Pay 
• Pay by Check 
• Direct Payment (credit/debit) 

 
Important:  Applications are not considered submitted until payment and required documents have been 
submitted.  Late fees apply if payment or required documents are received after September 1, 2025. 
 
Instructions:  Mail-in Renewals 
 
If renewing by mail: 
 

• Include correct payment with the completed renewal application(s). 
 

• Use tracked shipping as an option to con�irm delivery. (not required) 
 

• Mail to: 
Alabama Board of Funeral Services 
4276 Lomac Street 
Montgomery, Alabama 36106 

 
One check or money order in the correct amount is acceptable for multiple applications.  Please clearly indicate 
which applications the payment covers. 
 
Required Supporting Documents 
 
Certi�icate of Authority: 
 

• Complete �inancial statement (Requirements on website) 
 

• If approved for a �inancial statement waiver, include a copy of the waiver approval letter 
 
After You Renew 
 

• The Board communicates exclusively by email regarding renewals. 

https://alfsb.portalus.thentiacloud.net/webs/portal/service/#/login
https://alfsb.portalus.thentiacloud.net/webs/portal/business/#/login


 
• Each licensee must access their own portal to download and print their renewed license or certi�icate. 

 
 

• Individuals must have their own email address.  Do not have the same email address as other licensees 
or establishments; this will stop you from printing the renewed license or certi�icate. 

 
⚠  The Board does not mail licenses (except wallet cards for Preneed Sales Agents).  It is your responsibility 
to print and publicly display your license or certi�ication as required by law.  Failure to publicly display all 
licenses or certi�ications may result in disciplinary action. 
 
Please contact the Board of�ice if you have any questions or require help with your renewal. 


